Print Friendly Version  

Scientific Advisory Board

APUA Consultant Panel and Scientific Advisory Board

APUA’s Scientific Advisory Board and roster of expert consultants are based in 54 countries - 25 in the developing world.  This panel includes recognized experts on antimicrobial development, use, and resistance, with sub-specialties in pharmaceutical management, pharmacoeconomics, microbiology, internal medicine, pediatrics, public health, epidemiology, veterinary medicine/animal health, pharmacology, infection control/quality improvement, surveillance, provider training, clinical guidelines development, policy analysis, consumer education, and program administration.  Many have field experience in developing countries and are fluent in Spanish, French, and many other languages.

Consultant Panel

Aníbal Sosa, M.D. Professor Emeritus, Medical Microbiology and Tropical Diseases, University of Zulia School of Medicine, Tufts School of Medicine. Former Director of APUA International Chapter Programs.

Mirella Zulueta, M.D. ,Ph.D. Former Director of APUA Translational Medicine.

Scientific Advisory Board

Jacques F. Acar, M.D., Professor Emeritus, Microbiologie Medicale Foundation, Hopital Saint-Joseph, Paris, France

Werner Arber, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, University of Basel, Switzerland (1978 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine)

Fernando Baquero Mochale, M.D., Director,Servicio de Microbiologia, Hospital “Ramon y Cajal”, Madrid, Spain

Michael L. Bennish, M.D., Director, Africa Centre for Health and Population Studies in Mtubatuba, South Africa, and Professor, Departments of Medicine & Pediatrics, Tufts-New England Medical Center, Boston, Mass., USA

Patrice Courvalin, M.D., FRCP, Head of Antibacterial Agents Unit and of the (French) National Reference Center for Antibiotics, Institut Pasteur, Paris, France

Jose Ramiro Cruz, Ph.D., Regional Advisor (Guatemala) for Laboratory and Blood Services, Unit of Essential Medicines, Vaccines & Technologies; Pan American Health Organization; Washington DC

Iwan Darmansjah, M.D., Professor Emeritus, Department of Pharmacology, University of Indonesia, Jakarta, Indonesia, and Chair of the Subcommittee on Evaluation of Drugs for Safety & Efficacy, Indonesian Department of Health

Julian Davies, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, University of British Columbia, and Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer, TerraGen Diversity, Inc., Vancouver, BC, Canada

Stanley Falkow, Ph.D., Cahill Professor Microbiology and Immunology; Geographic Medicine; Infectious Diseases, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA

Paul Farmer, M.D., Co-founder, Partners In Health; Presley Professor of Social Medicine and Chair, Department of Global Health and Social Medicine, Harvard Medical School; and Chief, Division of Global Health Equity, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, Mass., USA

Walter Gilbert, Ph.D., Loeb University Professor, Department of Molecular & Cellular Biology, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass., USA (1980 Nobel Prize in Chemistry)

Herman Goossens, Ph.D., Director, Department of Clinical Microbiology, University Hospital, Antwerp, Belgium, and Project Leader of ESAC-European Surveillance on Antimicrobial Consumption

Sherwood L. Gorbach, M.D., Professor, Community Health & Medicine, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, Mass., USA

Ian M. Gould, Ph.D., Consultant Microbiologist, Aberdeen Royal Hospital, Aberdeen, Scotland

David Heymann, M.D., Chair of the Health Protection Agency in London, Head of the Centre on Global Health Security at Chatham House and Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

George Jacoby, M.D., Infectious Disease Section, Lahey Clinic, Burlington, Mass., USA and Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Sam Kariuki, Ph.D., Chief Research Officer and Head of Department, Centre for Microbiology Research at the Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)

Ellen L. Koenig, M.D., Principal Investigator, Institutto Dominicao De Estudios Virologicos (IDEV)

Calvin M. Kunin, M.D., FACP, Clinical Professor, Department of Infectious Disease Section, University of Arizona

Jacobo Kupersztoch, Ph.D., Executive Director, Centro Communitario Mexicano, Dallas, Texas, USA

Stephen A. Lerner, M.D., Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, and Associate Dean, Wayne State University School of Medicine, Detroit, Michigan, USA

Jay A. Levy, M.D., Director, Laboratory for Tumor and AIDS Virus Research, and Professor, University of California, San Francisco, California, USA

Donald E. Low, M.D., FRCPC, Microbiologist-in-Chief, Mt. Sinai & Princess Margaret Hospitals, and Professor, University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada,

Scott McEwen, D.V.M., D.V.Sc., ACVP, Professor, Department of Population Medicine, Ontario Veterinary College of the University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Jos. W.M. van der Meer, M.D., FRCP, Professor of Internal Medicine and Chairman of the Division of General Internal Medicine, University Medical Center of Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Richard P. Novick, M.D., Professor of Microbiology and Medicine, New York University Medical Center, New York, NY, USA

Ayo Oduola, Ph.D., Functional Coordinator Strategic and Discovery Research, Special Programme for Research and Training in Tropical Diseases, World Health Organization

Iruka Okeke, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biology, Haverford College, Haverford, Pennsylvania, USA & Nigeria

Maria Eugenia Pinto, M.D., Faculty of Medicine/Microbiology, University of Chile, Santiago, Chile

Vidal Rodriguez-Lemoine, M.D., Director, Centro Venezolano de Colecciones de Microorganismos, Universidad Central de Venezuela, Caracas, Venezuela

José Ignacio Santos, M.D., Director, National Immunization Council, Colonia Merced Gomez D.F., Mexico, and Professor of Experimental Medicine and Infectious Diseases at the School of Medicine, UNAM

Mervyn Shapiro, Ph.D., ChB., Director, Department of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, Hadassah University Hospital, Jerusalem, Israel

K.B. Sharma, Ph.D., Director, Centre for Infectious Disease Education & Research, New Delhi, India

Atef M. Shibil, Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology, King Saud University College of Pharmacy, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

E. John Threlfall, Ph.D., Head, Antibiotic Resistance/Molecular Epidemiology Unit, Laboratory of Enteric Pathogens, Health Protection Agency, London, England

Alexander Tomasz, M.D., Microbiology Laboratory, Rockefeller University, New York, New York, USA

Thelma E. Tupasi, M.D., Head, Infectious Disease Section, Makati Medical Center, Manila, The Philippines

Anne K. Vidaver, Ph.D., Head, Department of Plant Pathology, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

Fu Wang, M.D., Honorary Director, Institute of Antibiotics, Shanghai Medical University, and doctor in the Hua Shan Hospital, Shanghai, China

Thomas Wellems, M.D., Ph.D., Acting Co-chief, Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases, and Laboratory of Malaria and Vector Research, National Institutes of Health/ National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases, Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Bernd Wiedemann, M.D., Professor, Pharmazeutisch Microbiolgie, University at Bonn, Germany.







2014 Alliance for the Prudent Use of Antibiotics | 136 Harrison Ave, M&V Suite 811, Boston, MA, 02111 | Tel 617.636.0966 | apua@tufts.eduHome | Search | Contact Us